Full List Of Winners: Dance Music Awards South Africa 2019

The winners for the 2019 Dance Music Awards South Africa (DMSA) were announced at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre in Johannesburg on 3 October.

Shimza, Atjazz and house label House Afrika were the biggest winners with two awards each. Black Coffee, Prince Kaybee and DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small came tops in the Album of the Year, Best House Record and Best Amapiano Record categories respectively.

“I just realised I have been working for many years and I have always asked myself why is it that I am working and people don’t really recognise what I am doing,” Shimza said during his acceptance speech.

Shimza also wrote on Facebook: “Got awarded the Best Male DJ Award and my One Man Show won the Best Festival Award at the 2019 South African Dance Music Awards last night, I’d like to thank you for voting, i really appreciate and thank you.”

DJ Lady Lea was honoured with the Pioneers of Dance Award for her long-standing contribution to the dance music scene.

“I am completely blown away and humbled,” Lady Lea said. “Twenty-five years in the music industry is something else. So many years seems to have flown by, that’s what happens when you are having fun but it hasn’t been always easy.

“When I started deejaying in night clubs I was a teenager, technically not allowed in the club, but there I was playing my heart out, moving equipment around the DJ box to make me and the rest of the DJs comfortable.

“Thank you to all my supporters for sending me love and energy which has kept me going all these years and I am not planning on stopping any time soon. Thank you to Ricardo and the entire Dance Music Awards SA team for this award. It’s such an honour.”

Other winners in different categories are !Sooks & Avi Subban, Sculptured Music, Black Motion, Simmy and DJ Buhle.

Below is the full list of winners:

Remix of the Year

  • ‘Sad To Think (Fka Mash Remix)’ – Sculptured Music

  • ‘I Know (KaySoul Dub)’ – Babis Kotsanis

  • ‘I Will House You (Chronical Deep Claps Back)’ – Slaga ft. Noxman

  • ‘Sondela (Kususa Remix)’ – Floyd Lavine & David Mayer ft. Xolisa

  • ‘Fetch Your Life (Afro Brothers Spirit Mix) – Prince Kaybee

Compilation of the Year

  • House Afrika Presents Mzansi House Vol. 9

  • Africa Gets Physical Vol.2 Mixed by Kususa

  • Stay True Sounds Vol. 1

  • Ohyea Muziq pres. Various Artists - Summer Sampler Vol. 4

  • In2Deep Records Sessions 1 2019

Best Underground Record

  • ‘Oasis’ – !Sooks & Avi Subban

  • ‘Incwadi Encane (Original Mix)’ – Kususa and Argento Dust

  • ‘Sad To Think (Original Mix)’ – SculpturedMusic

  • ‘NQO’ – Lemon & Herb ft. Soulstar

  • ‘Wicked Eyes (Ryan Murgatroyd & Kostakis Disco Cowboy Remix)’ – Ryan Murgatroyd

Best Record Label

  • House Afrika

  • Just Move Records

  • Deep Obsession Recordings

  • MudPie Records

  • Stay True Sounds

Best Producer

  • Sculptured Music

  • Kususa

  • Enoo Napa

  • Da Capo

  • Ryan Murgatroyd

Best Music Video

  • ‘Nobody Else’ – Dwson ft. Sio

  • ‘Drive’ – Black Coffee

  • ‘African Woman ft. P Elle’ – Intruderz SA

  • ‘Gugulethu’ – Prince Kaybee

  • ‘Found You’ – Da Capo ft. Berita

Best Male Vocalist

  • Lazarusman

  • Noxman

  • Apple Gule

  • Ziyon

  • Zano

Best Male DJ

  • Shimza

  • Black Coffee

  • Kid Fonque

  • Kyle Watson

  • Kat La Kat

Best Live Act

  • Black Motion

  • DJ Tira

  • Goodluck

  • Busiswa

  • Mi Casa

Best International Producer

  • Atjazz

  • Lars Behrenroth

  • Stimming

  • Fisher

  • Rampa

Best International DJ

  • Atjazz

  • Lars Behrenroth

  • Jimpster

  • Solomun

  • Louie Vega

Best House Record

  • ‘Fetch Your Life’ – Prince Kaybee ft. Msaki

  • ‘It’s Sad To Think’ – Sculptured Music

  • ‘Blow by Blow’ – Atjazz And Jullian Gomes

  • ‘Any Other Way’ – Black Coffee and Karyendasoul ft. Zhao

  • ‘Nqo’ – Lemon & Herb ft. Soul Star

Best Gqom Record

  • ‘Amaxoki’ – Distruction Boyz ft. DJ Tira & K Dot

  • ‘Konakele’ – Da Fresh X DJ Athie ft. Busiswa

  • ‘Get Down’ – Rock Da House ft. Mr DUNNDIDIT

  • ‘Good Life’ – Portia Luma ft. Sdudla Somdantso, Sjangalala, Max

  • ‘Gqom Invasion (The Return of the legend)’ – Deejay Soso

Best Festival

  • Shimza One Man Show

  • Spring Fiesta

  • Rage Festival

  • Ultra

  • Fact Durban Rocks

Best Female Vocalist

  • Simmy

  • Busiswa

  • Holly Rey

  • Lady Zamar

  • Bucie

Best Female DJ

  • DJ Buhle

  • Miz-Dee

  • Soulbee

  • DJ Zinhle

  • Abby Nurock

Best EDM Record

  • ‘I Got Ya Babe’ – Pascal & Pearce, Locnville

  • ‘Perfect’ – Cinimin, Rocksted, Apple Gule

  • ‘Step in Your Shoes’ – Shades ft. Halo & CANDI CHU

  • ‘M.O.R.E’ – Vinne & Das Kapital ft. Thayana Valle

  • ‘Sweat’ – Mark Stent & Danny K

Best Dance Radio Show

  • 5FM – Selective Styles w/ Kid Fonque

  • Metro FM – Urban Beat w/ Mlu Dlukulu

  • 5FM – In Das We Trust w/ Das Kapital

  • 5FM – The Kyle Cassim Show

  • 947 – Eunite w/ Euphonik

Best Club Night

  • And Club

  • Truth

  • Reset

  • Club Mvg

  • Nicci Beach

Album of the Year

  • Music Is King – Black Coffee

  • Progressions – Ralf Gum

  • Big Bad Crazy – Atjazz & Jullian Gomes

  • I Move To A Different Beat – Kid Fonque

  • Moya Wa Taola – Black Motion

Best Amapiano Record

  • ‘Amantombazane’ – DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small

  • ‘Shesha’ – De Mthuda ft. Njelic

  • ‘Eargasms’ – MFR Souls

  • ‘Spirits’ – Bantu Elements

  • ‘Sandton’ – Jazzidisciples, Killer Kau

Pioneers of Dance Award

  • Lady Lea

'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();