Uhuru signs Executive Order adding Nairobi Metropolitan Service to Executive Office of the President

President Uhuru Kenyatta has signed an Executive Order adding the newly-formed Nairobi Metropolitan Service to the Executive Office of the President.

Executive Order No. 1 of 2020 lists the NMS Director General Major – General Mohamed Abdalla Badi under the EOP.

The EOP is now officially tasked with implementation of the deed of transfer of functions executed between the National Government and Nairobi City County Government.

The order reads as follows:

“IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by Article 132 (3) (b) of the Constitution, as read with all other enabling Laws, I, UHURU KENYATTA, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, order and direct:

“THAT the Government shall be organized as set out in this Order; (ii) THAT this Order contains portfolio responsibilities and changes made in the structure of Government; (iii) THAT this Order assigns functions and institutions among Ministries and State Departments; and (iv) THAT this Order supersedes Executive Order No. 1 of 2018 (Revised) issued in July 2018.”

The order also changes the title Presidency to Executive Office of the President.
'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();